Best Eaten Cold

Imagine that someone wants to do you harm. Someone you once knew, but have almost forgotten. Now, imagine that they are clever, patient and will not stop.
They’ll get inside your head and make you doubt yourself. They’ll make you question who you are, and ensure that everyone you care for starts to doubt you too.

Each perfectly-orchestrated doubt will slowly, steadily, build to a crescendo and destroy you.

This is real and it could be happening to you.

Best Eaten Cold is a chilling reminder of how quickly – and how blindly – we have learnt to trust in the online world, despite the somewhat ironic fact that none of us really understand it at all.

Fabiola lives an idyllic life in Oxford – beautiful house, adoring husband, happy healthy baby.

She thinks she’s left her past behind her. But in a world of smartphones and social media, it’s not so easy to wipe the slate clean.
____________________

Best Eaten Cold is a terrifying psychological thriller of technological trickery and the depths of human vindictiveness.

It is a nail-biting story that could happen to any one of us in this digital age.
____________________

*** “Fast-paced, terrifyingly believable, chilling at times… the kind of book that’s hard to put down”

*** “I admire any author who can hold my attention so thrillingly from beginning to end”

*** “Much superior to Girl on the Train.”

____________________

Best Eaten Cold continues to attract loyal readers and five-star reviews and is available in paperback or eBook format from Amazon or from most bookshops.

 

Reviews and Feedback

Below are the early reviews for Best Eaten Cold until mid-June 2017. I didn’t cherry-pick. This was the feedback from the first people who read the book. It is fabulous that everyone has enjoyed it and very encouraging.

Since then sales and feedback have continued to flow in. A free Kindle campaign in July 2017 generated 43,000 downloads in three days and six months after launch Best Eaten Cold had over 200 Amazon reviews worldwide (the vast, vast majority giving it five stars) and 400 Goodreads rankings.

Thanks to everyone who has read it so far and taken the time to ‘share the love’

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

FAST PACED, TERRIFYINGLY BELIEVABLE, CHILLING AT TIMES…..

By NO NONSENSE REVIEWS on 12 June 2017

Fast-paced, terrifyingly believable, chilling at times, Best Eaten Cold is the kind of book that’s hard to put down once you’ve started reading it. The female protagonist is persuasively drawn – particularly so by a male author – as are all the characters, (including the well-meaning husband and his loitering, disapproving mother), and the reader is compellingly drawn into the unfolding plot with a sinking feeling that keeps the pages turning. The ‘extracts’ reproduced at the top of every chapter gave such a powerful insight into the theme of identity theft that I found myself questioning my own internet presence and made all kinds of resolutions to change every one of my passwords! I highly recommend this book – it was a perfect holiday read. I admire any author who can hold my attention so thrillingly from beginning to end of a book. Looking forward to reading more by Tony Salter in future.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

A great read from beginning to end

By Sue Tucker on 11 June 2017

A great read from beginning to end. Deals with issues that could happen today, with consequences that can be extreme. Can highly recommend anyone who likes a thriller. Looking forward to the next novel from Tony Salter.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

WOW

By RMN on 8 June 2017

Had difficulty to get going at first, but after the first few chapters that set the scene I found this beautifully crafted book irresistible. The story starts mundane enough and could be about any or many of us. Then the plot kicks in and it twists and turns to become an at times disturbing yet, ultimately, …… totally satisfying read.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

Genuinely LOVED this book

By Mum of Two on 7 June 2017

Genuinely LOVED this book! Bought for a holiday read and couldn’t put it down, and with two boys to look after and keep watch of that’s really good going…left me nothing for the rest of the hols though. Gripping, different, thought-provoking and most of all deliciously readable…a fantastic story, have recommended to friends and family.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

Intriguing first novel

By Sakura on 3 June 2017

An intriguing weave of family history, technological trickery and the depths of human vindictiveness. The episodic plot, real locations and well drawn characters lend the novel a filmic quality. Accomplished and very enjoyable.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

Unique very modern slant made this a special experience.

By Silvo Don 3 June 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed this, the technical aspect of email and phone shadowing gave it a special twist that heightened the tension unbearably and enjoyably. recommended. Looking forward to the next one.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

Five Stars from me!

By Amazon Customer on 30 May 2017

A book written by an Author who knows how to spellbind you with wanting to consume more and more until you realise it’s 3 am in the morning, absolutely brilliant, loved the story, loved the characters and loved the cover too!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

Gripping!

By Amazon Customer on 25 May 2017

Eerily realistic, suspense and surprise in equal measure, I didn’t want it to end. Will be eagerly awaiting the next one! Particularly impressed with how Tony Salter encapsulates the female character perfectly! Once I found the time to devote to book reading again, I couldn’t put it down. More please!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

A rich plot adorned with lavish detail.

By Amazon Customer on 25 May 2017

Best Eaten Cold is without question one of the best books I have read in recent times. Salter keeps the reader’s attention throughout via a rich plot adorned with lavish detail. Will definitely be looking out for more books by this author.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

What a great read!

By S. Meade on 20 May 2017

This is an interesting book about the perils of the digital era – very clever and topical. I particularly enjoyed the structure – the book is divided into two parts, the first being told from the POV of a young mother, dealing with the fears of new motherhood and the doubts and concerns that plague thoughts and feelings. The second half is told from the POV of her now adult son. The central antagonist, who spans both halves, is a woman not to be toyed with…

I enjoyed getting to know the characters and Tony has shown real insight into both female and male characters – something not easily achieved. My one criticism would be the cover – I know this is a favourite painting, but it seems an odd choice. The cover doesn’t sell the book.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

GRIPPING!

By Claire Brown on 20 May 2017

GRIPPING STORY!! Or is it real?! I did not want to put this book down and read it within a few days. I enjoyed the way the two parts and prologue worked with one another. The story was so believable,especially as I know some of the places very well. The unbelievable….scaringly, became the believable with the brilliant characters.

Comment|Was this review helpful to you?

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

Highly recommended!

By Peter Nolan on 8 May 2017

As the title implies this covers familiar and fertile literary ground -love, jealousy and revenge. But this is also a very modern 21st century story that highlights the growing weaknesses of the digital age.

Tony Salter’s writing is both fluent and thoroughly engaging; he clearly has talent as a novelist. Keep writing!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

“Crime” caramel anyone ?

By daisy on 5 May 2017

Started reading this book while walking the last 78klms of the Compostella de Santiago … hoping it would keep me amused each evening following a long walk bath and bed …. one day in despite at first thinking oh not another gone girl/ girl on the train I was hooked and needed to eat the thing whole ! Gone in 2 nights …

each evening we were offered creme caramel for dessert resisting was easy !!!

A great read across the generations 👍

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

EXCELLENT! An absolutely brilliant read

By Carlene Kenton 4 May 2017

This book has had me totally gripped, it has also had me on edge at times!

I highly recommend it as a must read…. please please can there be a sequel 👍🏻

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

Gripping and enthralling, scary and very believable

By Bridie Graham on 4 May 2017

This was a great read – I wasn’t sure when I first started it, but it is very compelling and I read it late into the night (a mistake, as I was then too tense to sleep!). The very factual excerpts at the beginning of each chapter gave a rather chilling indication of the next devious way Fabiola’s peace of mind would be attacked and I thought this very effective. And, aware as we all are about cyber security, it was all too believable, as was the fact that Fabiola’s husband and mother-in-law thought she had post-partum depression. The end of the first half was, I suppose, inevitable.

The second half of the book was at a different pace to start with – I liked the way Daz had become part of the family almost. Then the pages started to turn more quickly and the end was reached satisfactorily, with all the ends tied up and justice done.

I would certainly recommend this book – it is well written with a highly topical subject matter and is not so much a “who-dunnit” as a “what’ll-they-do-next”

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

A must read!

By david stockley on 4 May 2017

Outstanding thriller, Salter’s characters got right under my skin, and he brings to life a side of the digital world that could really threaten any of us. A must read. Up there with Joseph Finder and Harlen Coben.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

A great read that will make you consider your digital security

By ben osmond on 3 May 2017

A great read that will make you consider your digital security! This is a well written story that will keep you gripped all the way through and you certainly wont regret buying it.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

I thought this book was excellent. The twists and turns were extremely clever and …

By Sara Cook on 1 May 2017

I must congratulate the author on his writing, I thought this book was excellent. The twists and turns were extremely clever and I didn’t want to put it down. I kept wanting to skip to the back pages to see how things had all worked out, needless to say I didn’t and thoroughly enjoyed the journey although my stomach dropped at times when I realised what was going to happen. I would recommend this book to everyone, indeed my husband and daughter have read it too. I’m really looking forward to his next one.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

Excellent read!

By Amazon Customer on 25 April 2017

This is a very well written tale which keeps the reader enthralled to the end.I would definitely say that it is up there with some of the ‘biggies’ like Gone Girl.Excellent twist in the second half -didn’t see that one coming!As a first novel it is outstanding and personally I can’t wait for the next offering from this talented writer!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

Great Read, you will not be disappointed if you buy this book

By Amazon Customer on 25 April 2017

Wow, amazing unique plot, couldn’t it down and had me gripped all the way to the last page.

Can’t wait for his next one!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

Great debut novel

By syko on 23 April 2017

Worryingly prescient! Just finished the book and heard of a ‘keyless’ car being stolen! Well written and well researched the book moves at a cracking pace. Good characterisation and a troubling insight into modern cybercrime and the havoc it can wreak. I look forward to the publication of this authors next book.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

WOW

By Amazon Customer on 19 April 2017

I was gripped from the start. Very believable characters -particularly Fabiola – making what happens worryingly shocking! Totally unexpected twists kept me reading – “I didn’t see that coming…” Didn’t want to get to the end. Always a sign of a good book for me.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

A thumping page turner which gets in to your head …

By Amazon Customer on 18 April 2017

A thumping page turner which gets in to your head. Characters and plot created with an uncanny realism. I found myself worrying about what disaster would next happen to Fabiola and question my own online security.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

A cracking page turner! It’s rare for me these …

By Philip Evason on 18 April 2017

A cracking page turner! It’s rare for me these days to be truly gripped by a storyline, but this got me hooked. Kept coming back to it all weekend, much to my wife’s frustration! Don’t pick it if you have anything else important to do…

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

This is a brilliant book! Loved it

By nicola gitsham on 13 April 2017

This is a brilliant book! Loved it. Haven’t read one so quickly for years. It has two very significant parts to it and an excellent prologue with twists and turns throughout which all connect up so cleverly.

I loved the way it took you to a place that was so dark you didn’t think it could get any worse…and then off it goes again while circling back round…can’t say anymore without giving it all away so just get it and enjoy it. Brilliant. Would be an amazing film!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

I can’t believe that I was disappointed at first since every chapter started with a quote …

By mathilda on 10 April 2017

I chose this rating quite simply because this novel deserved it. It’s characters had depth and believability. The storyline was both ordinary and extraordinary. I was hooked from page one til the last line. I can’t believe that I was disappointed at first since every chapter started with a quote that almost ruined it for me! But then surprising twist as it all links to the 2nd part!

I look forward to the next novel by this talented writer.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

I am a very slow reader and amazed how quickly I finished this book.

By Amazon Customer on 8 April 2017

I am a very slow reader and amazed how quickly I finished this book.It showed that it was very hard to put down. A great story very well written looking forward to the next one

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

Buy it! Great book.

By Jenny Con 4 April 2017

I loved this book. I thought the characters were so realistic, love the settings and how clever were the twists!?! I couldn’t put this book down. Not particularly heavy going, but just right in my opinion. I’d really recommend it!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

An engaging, gripping and chilling read.

By Susie on 4 April 2017

This is a hard book to review as I really don’t want to give anything away. It is an easy and fast-paced read with emotional twists throughout. I would describe it as an unusual tale of domestic suspense. There is obviously the theme of revenge running through and what makes it scary is that it is all too credible. The characters are well drawn and Fabiola is lovely. She is driven to doubt herself and that’s just the beginning. Highly recommended.

 

4.0 out of 5 stars

Read it in one go!

By Annie Eccles on 4 April 2017

LOVED IT, LOVED IT, LOVED IT……. a real page turner,I counldn’t put it down!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

Real page turner and thoroughly enjoyable read

By Emma Newman on 31 March 2017

I love a good psychological thriller and this is no exception! A real page turner, I couldn’t wait to get back to it which is always the sign of a good read. The main character, Fabiola is a character a lot of Mums will associate with which made it even more compelling. If you like Douglas Kennedy or Sophie Hannah, you’ll love this too. Brilliant first novel and looking forward to reading the next!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

Five Stars

By H J Codrington on 31 March 2017

Amazing first novel. You won’t want to put it down. Can’t wait for his next book. I received a copy of the book before it was published – I don’t read that quickly!